A few dinners in one-pre Dukan.

This was a post I never posted until now, it’s a bit late, but it’s what we had before embarking on a fantastic new way of eating, yet somehow similar to how we usually eat, preferring fresh veggies and protein over processed, starchy foods.  As far as our choices before the diet, I have to say knowing that we are about to embark on the diet, I was pretty lazy in my food choices and dinners the past few nights. Basically we had a pre-made dinner. Something I don’t like at all, but it wasn’t bad. I bought the pre-made frozen Palak Paneer and the Chana Masala at Trader Joes. The Palak Paneer is a spinach cheese dish and the chana masala is a chickpea dish. Both go really well with scallops. I placed the two frozen dishes in the oven, there is an option for oven or microwave, but I felt far to guilty placing them in the microwave. I then sauteed/seered some scallops, the best I could on our electric burner. I really miss our gas range. I’ve actually never had an electric range before living in this apartment complex and it shows. I can’t seem to get it down. I’ve burned milk numerous amounts of time in my nice milk froather so much that my sour face in the mornings landed me a brand new Nespresso electric froather from my husband for Christmas. It’s amazing. You just press the button and in two seconds you have super foam. Anyway, back to my easy dinner, I put the meals in the oven for 25 mins with the plastic wrap still on, something I didn’t realize the first time I made this dish. I did make a salad -we keep with the French tradition of having a salad after our main course as opposed to before. The indian food was great. We joked about imagining a bunch of indian chefs cooking at Trader Joes. In general, I rarely buy pre-made food but,the pre-made things from Trader Joe’s aren’t bad. But then again because of all these easy dishes, we are now on a diet. I discovered these dishes when I was shopping for New Year’S dinner. Sounds like lame dinner for New Years, but I needed to buy things that could be frozen,since we were returning from Detroit late New Years Eve and none of the stores would be open on New Year’s Day,it’s the best choice.

The salad I made. My usual vinaigrette

1 tablespoon of strong Dijon mustard

3 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon of red wine vinegar, or some type of vinegar.

chopped shallots and chopped herbs

toss with field greens and romaine lettuce.

What was for dinner the next few nights was just as easy. The following night I ordered in from a local Thai restaurant, Swan Thai in the Golden Cove strip mall in Rancho Palos Verdes, which is right next to Trader Joes and Starbucks. It was pretty good. We had drunken noodle with beef, heaven rolls (fresh summer rolls with spicy peanut sauce) and green curry with chicken. We had some left over sauce from the green curry. I saved it and used it for yet another lazy meal. I made stir fry with eggplant, red and yellow peppers, onions and scallops over rice the following night. Tonight I’m sorry to say, for my husband, it won’t be that interesting as I’m making my usual grilled chicken with herb, garlic, lemon and salt. I am finding a slump in my cooking. I think all the holiday meals have kind of set me back. But as far as lazy meals go, these are good. Once we are done with our diet, I will stock the freezer with some pre-made meals, but my hopes are to make many meals and freeze them for ease and health.

Leave a Reply

