Luscious Lasagne Bolognese

Pastasorten Lasagne
Pastasorten Lasagne (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This was one of the best meals I made and also froze.  One lasagna has lasted our small family of 3 over a month.  I decided to make a Bolognese sauce and a summer sauce a week prior.  I now have any pasta lovers freezer, with different pasta sauces as well as delicious lasagna.  After living in Italy 2.5 years I realized that the real way to make lasagna is to use Bechamel instead of Ricotta Cheese between the layers.

The Bolognese was already made, I just defrosted a giant tub, about 8 cups worth.  Meanwhile, I started on the Bechamel.   I usually just wing the recipe as I know what the consistency is supposed to be and the outcome always more or less is what I want.  However, for you to follow I’ve tried to get the ingredients down.  Mario Batalli’s Recipe is also a great one to follow if you want something more comprehensive.  http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/mario-batali/bechamel-sauce-recipe/index.html

My recipe is very similar.

4 tablespoons butter

3 tablespoons all-purpose flour

3 cups milk

2 teaspoons salt

1teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg

Directions
In a medium saucepan, heat the butter over medium-low heat until melted. Add the flour and stir until smooth. Over medium heat, cook until the mixture turns a light, golden sandy color, about 4-5 minutes.

I add milk about 1 cup at a time while whisking continuously until very smooth. What differs from my recipe is I don’t heat the milk separately and add heated milk.  I think I will try this technique next time.  I also didn’t cook it to a boil…. either way, it needs to be a thick, smooth consistency.  I do love to add tons of freshly grated nutmeg.  Invest in a nutmeg mill and you will be thrilled with the results.  The flavor from freshly ground nutmeg is amazing.  So much I felt like eating the bechamel with a spoon, like a nice soup.

IMG_0630

https://karinemeals.wordpress.com/2012/02/29/bolognese-sauce/

Recipe for the lasagna:

1 package of nice lasagna noodles

3 fresh tomatoes

1 big bunch of fresh basil

1 big ball of burrata-this was a splurge and is not necessary

1 pack of fresh mozzarella cheese

5-6 cups of Bolognese sauce. Vegetarians can use another sauce if they like, such as my Summer Sauce.

IMG_0856

I then just started with a big lasagna pan.  Make sure at this point you pre-heat the oven to 325 F.  I first put a healthy layer of bolognaise sauce, I then added uncooked pasta, another layer of bechamel and bolognaise mixed, then pasta, then I tour apart the burrata and added chopped basil, the whole bunch.  I then added more pasta, another layer of sauce, another layer of pasta, then more bechamel, sauce, pasta and then I ran out of everything.  I sliced 3 fresh tomatoes, cut up some fresh mozzarella cheese and then layered the top of the last layer of pasta.  I covered the lasagna with tin foil and let cook at 325 F for about 45 minutes.  I uncovered it and turned up the oven to 350 F and let the rest cook and bubble.  It was delicious and will be again tonight.  I suggest you serve with a side salad.  I used a mix of greens, romaine lettuce and arugula with a simple Dijon vinaigrette.

Dijon vinaigrette Recipe:

2 tablespoons of Dijon mustard

4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar.

Mix the mustard and olive oil to a nice thick consistency, slowly add the vinegar while constantly whisking… and voila, a great dressing.

One thought on “Luscious Lasagne Bolognese

Leave a comment