49th Birthday party appetizers

I decided to host a birthday party for my friend.  At first I wanted it to be a surprise… well, I apparently can’t keep a secret.  I had asked Jill if she wanted to celebrate her birthday with me and Latifa at my place.  In the end she said it would be great but she’d love to have Wendy and Penny join.  I burst out laughing because I had spent the whole day spying on her facebook page to get contact names.  I basically told her I’d already invited them.  Later that evening I then blurted out more people I invited.  I decided not to cook as much for this party as I was busy working on other projects and didn’t have much time.  I ended up serving way too much food!  What you don’t see here are Jill’s favorite hot appetizers.  Olive balls.

 

Olive ball recipe:

40 green pimento olives drained

4 tablespoons of European style butter

3 cups of cheddar cheese

1/2 cup flour

Directions:  Drain the olives and set aside.  Mix with your hands or in the cuisinart all the ingredients until you get it shaped into a big ball.  Take a bit off each time and make a little pancake like shape.  Place an olive in it and then wrap it with the dough.  The best part about this appetizer is you can freeze them and always have them on hand for last minute get togethers.  The keep in the freezer for about 2 months.  Just bake at 350 for 20 minutes or so.  YUM

 

IMG_5257 IMG_5258

 

I also made chocolate covered strawberries.  It’s super easy and a nice treat.  I usually buy a big bar of chocolate and use my make shift bain marie- a  steel bowl on top of a pot with boiling water.  You need to constantly stir the chocolate until it fully melts.  I used about 250 grams of chocolate for 12 huge strawberries.  I wasn’t in the mood to make a cake, so I cheated and bought the cheese cake.

Next I bought a great spinach dip that I placed in the red pepper cut out.

 

IMG_5259

A very easy and pretty appetizer is blue cheese, walnuts and endive…. this is so simple, break apart the endive, sprinkle a good blue cheese and little pieces of walnuts and voila!!!!!

IMG_5260

The evening was nice with lots of food to eat… I got every type of Italian cured meat at Perozzi’s Italian deli, in San Pedro! YUM

IMG_5263 IMG_5264 IMG_5265 IMG_5266

Leave a comment