Polenta encrusted tilapia with a side of spinach and parsley shrimp

Usually I make a ceviche with the Tilapia I get from the San Pedro Fish Warehouse but this time I had no time and nothing set for dinner.  I used a recipe that my Italian neighbor in Monza, Italy taught me for veal.  It worked well for the Tilapia!  I set out a plate of olive oil, a plate of polenta mixed with salt, pepper and a tiny bit of chopped fresh sage. I dredged the fish in olive oil then coated it with polenta.  Once fish is ready, prepare spinach to be steamed.  I had another little saute pan ready for my shrimp.  I only had about 6 shrimp but it made for a good side.  At the same time with the fish, I cooked the shrimp, but in separate saute pans.  For the shrimp chop up some garlic-about one clove and chop up a bunch of parsley, even the stems.  Add the garlic to the pan with olive oil.  Add the shrimp.  At the same time, add the fish to the other saute pan with hot olive oil.  Place the fish on one side and let cook for about 2 minutes before turning to the other side.  Start the spinach for steaming.  Soon in about 15 minutes your entire meal will be ready.  Make sure you have cut up lemon for the fish and shrimp.  Squeeze out the excess water from the spinach.  This was really yummy!

1 tilapia filet per person

1/2 cup polenta

1/4 cup olive oil for the dredging

shrimp, garlic, olive oil, sage, parsley and lemon slices

steamed spinach

Polenta encrusted Tilapia

 

One thought on “Polenta encrusted tilapia with a side of spinach and parsley shrimp

Leave a comment